As of October 31, 2017, Rhode Island made a few changes to their food safety manager certification regulations. Here's what you need to know:
- Instead of the previously required 15 hours of training, only 8 classroom-training hours will be required.
- Managers will need to retake a certification exam every 3 years.
- The health department is no longer enforcing a 6-hour training course requirement prior to re-certification. Managers may prepare for retaking the manager certification exam using study materials of their choice for any amount of time needed.
- There must be a Certified Manager on site during meal preparation and serving times.
- The final regulation clarifies the language that requires food establishments to have a written food safety plan.
- These changes are already in effect.
Are you in compliance with these new food safety laws in Rhode Island? Contact National Registry of Food Safety Professionals for your food safety certification needs.